Back from Frankfurt

Dear reader,

FrankfurtI spent the last week on a work trip in Frankfurt, Germany in which I, along with two other people, trained MOSS 2007 and general web content principles to our Area Office web staff.
The training was far from being free of problems, so I thought I’d post a couple of the issues here for food of thought if your company is going through similar trainings:

  • First of all, make sure your MOSS server has the best CPU on the market and as much memory as possible. Ours clearly didn’t, which resulted in that when 20 people tried to log in and create or edit pages, the server just crashed and had to be rebooted. Note to self: the Microsoft recommendations are not enough.
  • With Japanese keyboard the Telerik RAD editor did not accept any keys in some circumstances.
  • On some occasions the link and image wizard tools in Telerik editor did not work. Initially I thought this was only on an XP + IE 6 combinations, but later on we found that IE 7 had similar problems as well.

Apart from these, the training was succesful and I was particularly glad that I for once had a slot in which to train the very basic web principles. I mean really basic, but absolutely fundamental stuff, such as image size and resolution in web use, search engine optimization with text content, how to use tables, etc. Gladly, after the training, we also had a few hours to spend in Frankfurt city as well.

3 Responses

  1. Hi,

    My name is Rumen and I am from the Telerik RadEditor team.

    I’m sorry to hear that you have problems with the editor. Have you already open a support ticket and reported these issue in our support ticketing system at telerik.com?

    If you haven’t posted a support ticket or reported these issues in our forums then I would invite you to do that so that we can resolve these issues or provide guidance how to resolve them on your side.

  2. Dear Rumen,

    Unfortunately the training was intense and there was little time to try to recreate the problems or to find out what exactly triggered them. I am, however, pleased to see that you are so active as to find my blog entry on your product. Nevertheless, the biggest problem I have come across with RadEditor is the fact that MOSS reusable content does not update because of it. This is something that I’m really looking forward to being fixed in your future update releases.

    Thank you for your comment. I’ll try to gather better data if these issues persist and to report them to your support system.

  3. octopus says : I absolutely agree with this !

Leave a Reply

